The Importance of a Line

 

Hundertwasser Haus in Vienna in January 2009 The Straight Line Leads to the Downfall of Our Civilisation, 1953

I have a bicycle. Paris is big.  I want to say that the lines I draw with my bicycle through this city are extraordinary.
The lines are just as wonderful as all the other lines I cross traced by all the other people.
I ride around people and obstacles. I am happy at last to be in harmony and in contact with the others.
These lines, for which I need many hours and which form an enormous circle by the time I  come back and which make me tired, are more beautiful, more genuine and more justified than those I could draw on paper.
And I dare say that the lines I trace with my feet on the pavement walking to the museum are more important than the lines I will find there hanging on the walls inside.
And it pleases me enormously to see that the line I trace is never straight, never confused, but has a reason to be like this in every tiny part. But above all beware of the T-squared straight line.
The straight line leads to the downfall of humanity. La ligne droite conduit à la perte de l’humanité.

Friendensreich Hundertwasser

Hundertwasser as Philosopher of Architecture
(“For a more human architecture in harmony with nature – Hundertwasser Architecture , Vienna (1997) : Benedikt Taschen Verlag GmbH)

 

Leave a Reply

